Legislative advocacy for the roadway safety industry

ATSSA’s Government Relations Team is here to help the roadway safety industry educate decision-makers on the state and federal level, to advocate for roadway safety infrastructure policies and funding. Learn more about ATSSA’s grassroots advocacy to advance policies that move us Toward Zero Deaths on our nation’s roadways and how you can get involved.

Cutting the gas tax is a COST we can't afford. Learn more now.

Get Involved


Join us in promoting state and
federal level policies that make
our roads safer.

Political Action Committee


The PAC provides support to policy makers on Capitol Hill that support roadway safety.

Federal Advocacy


Passionately advocating for
roadway safety infrastructure on
Capitol Hill.



Bringing together ATSSA members from across the country in a united voice for roadway safety.

State Advocacy


Connecting ATSSA chapters with
state-level grass roots efforts
across the country.

Toward Zero Deaths


TZD is a national strategy on highway safety that advocates for eliminating injury & death on roadways.

Advocacy news & blogs


ATSS Foundation awards Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarships to 14 students

Two students receive Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarships for volunteerism

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. (Dec. 14, 2022) –The American Traffic Safety Services Foundation awarded scholarships to 14 students for the 2022-23 academic year, with the majority of students being multi-year recipients.

The Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program started in 2002 to provide financial assistance for post-high school education to dependents of roadway workers killed or permanently disabled in roadway work zones. The program is competitive and provides scholarships valued up to $10,000 per student each year. The program has awarded more than $400,000 since its inception.

Applicants who demonstrate a strong commitment to volunteerism may be eligible for an additional $1,000 in honor of Chuck Bailey, a member of the roadway safety industry who died in 2002.

Joann Jones of Bluffton, Ind., and Sydney Parsons of Kelso, Wash., received the Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarship. Joann, whose father was killed in a work zone incident in 2009, attends Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland where she is studying to become an astrophysicist. While pursuing her studies, she has helped at track and basketball camps for children, helped feed the homeless and works at an animal shelter. This is her second year as an academic scholarship recipient.

Sydney begins college this year and plans to attend Central Washington University to become a paramedic. She was inspired to pursue that field by her father’s debilitating injury in 2016. She has been active with Red Cross blood drives and volunteering with Lil Titans Outdoors where she works with youth. She also is a battalion chief in a fire science program.

“One of the great joys of serving on The ATSS Foundation Board is getting the opportunity to assist aspiring college students as they navigate a path forward,” said Board Chair Kevin Shelton. “Each of the students receiving a scholarship has worked hard at their studies despite the tragedy they experienced in their young lives. I wish them the best as they seek to grow and learn and pursue their passions.”

The Foundation Board interviews and carefully considers each application to ensure it responsibly stewards the resources entrusted to it.

“The scholarships are possible because of the many individuals, companies and organizations that support The Foundation throughout the year and who believe in its mission to promote roadway safety through charitable giving and public awareness programs,” said Foundation Director Lori Diaz. “It’s a privilege to be able to support these students.”

This year’s group of recipients includes two sets of siblings and represents 10 states: California, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Tennessee, Washington and Wisconsin.

  • Aaron Baker – Le Center, Minn., Winona State University
  • James Beard – Highland, Ill., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (first-time recipient)
  • Tessa Beard – Highland, Ill., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
  • Daniel Hart – Ridge, N.Y., State University of New York Cortland
  • Emily Hause – Eaton Rapids, Mich., Michigan State University
  • Katie Hutt – Cleveland, Tenn., University of Tennessee Knoxville
  • Joann Jones – Bluffton, Ind., Case Western Reserve University
  • Mariela Lara – Ojai, Calif., California State University Channel Island
  • Rylee O’Brien – Frederic, Wisc., Minnesota State University Mankato (first-time recipient)
  • Sydney Parsons – Kelso, Wash., Central Washington University (first-time recipient)
  • Alex Perez – Indianapolis, Ind., Indiana University (first-time recipient)
  • Kaitlyn Pirelli – Chicago, Ill., Loyola University Chicago
  • Megan Pirelli – Chicago, Ill., Chamberlain University College of Nursing
  • Maycie Walker – Dry Ridge, Ky., University of Pikeville

The ATSS Foundation is the charitable arm of ATSSA. It was formed in 1988 with the core purpose to promote roadway safety through charitable giving and public awareness programs.

7376 Rate this article:
No rating
Please login or register to post comments.