/ Categories: ATSSA, Convention & Expo

Nominations are open for ATSSA’s Industry Achievement Award

Nominations are now open for ATSSA’s 2020 Industry Achievement Award, given annually to acknowledge an Association member who made significant contributions to ATSSA and the roadway safety infrastructure industry.

Nominations are due by Nov. 15 for recognition at the 51st Annual Convention & Traffic Expo in 2021.

The Industry Achievement Award is the Association’s highest honor and is given to recognize ATSSA members who achieve distinction deemed worthy of special recognition. To be eligible, the person must be a current member or have been a member for at least 10 years. Only ATSSA members may submit a nomination.

The 2019 winner was Roger Wentz, who retired this spring after a 22-year career as ATSSA’s president and CEO. The Board of Directors, which chooses the honoree, made an exception to the ATSSA membership requirement in Wentz’s case in recognition of his longtime leadership of the Association.

The Industry Achievement Award was originally called the "Pioneer Achievement Award" and was first given in 1979. The ATSSA Board of Directors voted in November 2005 to move to the Industry Achievement Award to broaden the options for recognition. Under the current name, those honored may be pioneers or they may represent a new and innovative company. In each case, the awards have recognized contributions, dedication, and hard work in furthering the aims of the industry.

The Industry Achievement Award is one of four ATSSA national awards given each year as a result of industry nominations that are given as part of the annual Convention & Traffic Expo. The others are the National Safety Award, the Mark of Excellence Award, and the National Media Award.

Previous Article Congressman and FHWA chief participate in final day of Midyear Digital
Next Article Bicycle and pedestrian safety increasingly relevant during pandemic
6443 Rate this article:
No rating
Please login or register to post comments.