Subscribe to News Alerts
You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us. We will treat your information with respect. You agree that ATSSA may process your information in accordance with its terms.
We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.
Recipients of 2018-2019 Foundation Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship announced
SuperUser Account

Recipients of 2018-2019 Foundation Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship announced

Student dependents impacted by work zone crashes receive $10,000 scholarships

The American Traffic Safety Services Foundation has announced the eight recipients of the 2018-2019 Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarships are awarded for post-high school education to dependents of roadway workers who have been killed or permanently disabled in work zone crashes.

One of this year’s recipients, Cody Garner of Batesville, Arkansas, will receive an additional $1,000 via the Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship was given to Garner for his commitment to volunteerism.

“The Foundation is proud to be able to provide these educational scholarships to these eight incredible students. We’re committed to supporting family and loved ones of those injured and killed in work zones across the United States, and we know that these scholarships will help these students reach their educational goals,” said Foundation President Tom Wood.

Learn more about this year’s recipients:

Tessa Beard – Highland, Illinois
Beard will study nursing at the Southern Illinois University Edwardsville this fall. Beard was eleven-years-old when her father, Dennis, was struck and killed by a speeding motorist while setting up a lane closure on Interstate 64 near Fairview Heights, IL.

Cameron Hutt – Cleveland, Tennessee
Hutt will study law at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville this fall. Hutt was six-years-old when her father, Christopher, was installing a speed limit sign when two cars crashed in the work zone and subsequently struck and killed him.

Jacob Schwarz – Monee, Illinois
Schwarz is studying animation with a concentration in computers at Columbia College Chicago. His father, David, was struck and killed by hit-and-run semitrailer driver in September 2017 while he was removing debris off the Tri-State Tollway in Alsip.

Marcie Walker – Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Walker will study music at Morehead State University. Walker was fifteen-year-old when her father, Daniel, was securing a concreate divider when a dump truck crashed into a semitrailer that subsequently struck and killed him.

Cody Garner – Batesville, Arkansas
Garner is studying history and international studies at the University of Arkansas. Garner was fifteen-years-old when his father, John, was killed when the road surface compactor he was operating flipped over on a steep incline and rolled over him. Garner will also receive an additional scholarship in the amount of $1,000 for his volunteer work.

Caitlyn Rains – Proctor, Arkansas
Rains is studying law and journalism at the University of Central Arkansas. Rains was thirteen-years-old when her father, James “Bubba” Rains, was struck and killed by a motorist under the influence while working with a nighttime paving crew.

Andrea Pair – Spiro, Oklahoma
Pair will be a pharmacy student and attend Harding Pharmacy. Pair's father, Shannon, was removing pavement marking from a highway when a vehicle struck and killed him. Pair was two-years-old when her father died at the age of 31.

Brionna Lizotte – Montreal, Missouri
Lizotte is studying Psychology and Justice Systems at Truman State University. Lizotte was three-years-old when her father, Gerald, was transporting materials from a worksite for his job with the Missouri Department of Transportation when he was hit by a vehicle, resulting in his death.

To learn more about the winners, click here.

The Foundation is a 501(c)3 organization that promotes roadway safety and supports the family and loved ones of fallen roadway workers that were injured or killed in work zone crashes. In addition to the National Work Zone Memorial, The Foundation hosts fundraisers and events throughout the year to raise funds for programs including the Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship program and the Experience Camps Travel Scholarship program.

Previous Article Engineering students can now apply to enter the 2019 Traffic Control Device Challenge
Next Article ATSSA members march toward the future at 2018 Midyear Meeting in Williamsburg, Virginia
6499 Rate this article:
No rating
Please login or register to post comments.