Member and Industry Awards

Recognize your industry peers by nominating them for an ATSSA award

Each year, ATSSA honors and recognizes deserving professionals and companies for a variety of industry awards. Nominate those who have made a significant contribution to the roadway safety infrastructure industry. All national winners are recognized during ATSSA's Annual Convention & Traffic Expo.

Chairman's Award presented for 2021

During the first general session at ATSSA’s 2022 Convention & Traffic Expo in Tampa, ATSSA Board Chair Greg Driskell surprised President & CEO Stacy Tetschner with the Chairman’s Award, an award given only four times in the 28-year history of the award. Driskell announced it as part of his remarks on Feb. 13 and said it recognized Tetschner’s performance during his first two years at the helm of the Association and his tremendous help to Driskell during his term as Board Chair.


National Safety Award

National Safety Award

For more than 30 years, ATSSA members have honored and recognized public officials with the National Safety Award. This person must employed by a government agency (or retired from a government agency within the last two years) and has made a significant contribution to the safety of our nation’s highways. Only ATSSA members may submit a nomination.


The 2022 call for nominations period closed July 31.

View previous award recipients


Industry Achievement Award

Industry Achievement Award

The Industry Achievement Award (originally called the "Pioneer Achievement Award") is intended to recognize ATSSA members who achieve distinction deemed worthy of special recognition. It is a means of acknowledging members who have attained eminence in the roadway safety infrastructure industry and/or who have made unusually significant contributions to ATSSA. This award is not required to be presented each year, but is reserved to acknowledge a select few for their lifetime of work and service.


The 2022 nomination period is open Aug. 8 - Sept. 30.


Read the purpose, criteria and process document and a letter from Board Chair Jeff Johnson, then submit the online nomination form.


View previous award recipients


National Media Award

National Media Award

ATSSA's National Media Award* recognizes a reporter/news organization, blogger or freelancer, who has been fair, balanced and informative in reporting transportation-related issues on radio, television, newspaper and/or the web. Journalists play an important role in telling the public what's happening in our communities and on our roadways. Only employees of Department of Transportation (DOT) offices or transportation agencies may submit a nomination.


*Employees of a government agency, highway department or DOT are NOT eligible for this award.


The 2022 nomination period is open Aug. 9 - Oct. 7. Complete the online nomination form.


View previous award recipients


Mark of Excellence Award

Mark Of Excellence Award

The Mark of Excellence recognizes an individual’s outstanding contribution to the pavement marking industry and ATSSA. It is awarded by the ATSSA Pavement Marking Division (PMD) and Manufacturers and Suppliers Division (MSD) of ATSSA membership. The nominee need not be a member of either the PMD or MSD, but must currently be a member of ATSSA or have been a member for a minimum of 10 years and have advanced roadway safety infrastructure through improved pavement markings. Only regular* PMD or MSD members may submit a nomination.


*Regular Member – Any individual who is a full-time employee of either a Full, Associate or International member company, or any person who is an Individual Consultant, or a Manufacturers Representative Member of this Association qualifies as a Regular Member of ATSSA (ATSSA Bylaws Version 1.1, 07/27/2018).


The 2022 nomination period is not yet open.


View previous award recipients


The ATSS Foundation Champion Award

ATSS Foundation Champion Award

The ATSS Foundation Champion Award recognizes individuals or entities who have demonstrated extraordinary efforts in supporting The Foundation’s core purpose of promoting roadway safety through charitable giving and public awareness programs. Through their own unique combination of passion and skills, champions inspire others to get involved and give back to our industry.


Nominations are considered three times a year in conjunction with Foundation Board meetings (March, July and November). Learn more and submit a nomination today


ATSSA Innovation Awards

Innovation Award

Exhibitors at ATSSA's Annual Convention & Traffic Expo are encouraged to apply for the New Products Rollout (NPRO) event and its innovative opportunities, which are designed to help gain the maximum exposure for new products. Approved participants may vie for a prestigious ATSSA Innovation Award, which recognizes the top innovative products displayed at Traffic Expo that are entered in the ATSSA NPRO Presentation Live Event.


The application period for 2023 is now open until Dec. 1, 2022 (must be a current exhibitor to apply).


Learn more about the New Products Rollout