Cooperative Automated Transportation (CAT)

Roadway Safety in a Cooperative Automated World

Highway automation is not years away, or even days away. It’s here now, causing a number of state transportation agencies to react with initiatives related to preparing and supporting Connected Automated Vehicles (CAVs) on U.S. roadways.

Connected and Automated Vehicles (CAVs)

Cooperative Automated Transportation (CAT) deals with CAVs, which are vehicles capable of driving on their own with limited or no human involvement in navigation and control. Per the definition adopted by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there are six levels of automation (Levels 0-2: driver assistance and Levels 3-5: HAV), each of which requires its own specification and marketplace considerations.

Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) and Connected and Automated Vehicles (CAVs)

For traffic safety, vehicle-to-everything communications is the wireless exchange of critical safety and operational data between vehicles and anything else. The "X" could be roadway infrastructure, other vehicles, roadway workers or other safety and communication devices. ATSSA members are at the forefront of these technologies, and are working with stakeholders across new industries to see these innovations come to life.

Sensor Technology

CAVs rely on three main groups of sensors: camera, radar, and Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR). The camera sensors capture moving objects and the outlines of roadway devices to get speed and distance data. Short- and long-range radar sensors work to detect traffic from the front and the back of CAVs. LIDAR systems produce three-dimensional images of both moving and stationary objects. 

For more information about ATSSA’s efforts on CAT and CAV’s and their interaction with our member products check out the resources below.


/ Categories: ATSSA, Training

ATSSA’s sexual harassment prevention training meets state requirements

In an era when the #MeToo movement has garnered widespread attention, employers need to be vigilant to make sure everyone on their team understands what sexual harassment is, how to avoid it and, should it occur, how to report it.

ATSSA’s new online Workplace Training provides a quick, simple and cost-effective solution and includes courses for specific states to meet their individual requirements.

Launched in mid-March, the Workplace Training curriculum covers a variety of human resources topics as well as workplace safety issues that comply with Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) standards.

Courses are entirely online, generally take 20-30 minutes and can be taken at the person’s convenience from anywhere. Students receive a certificate of completion via email after a course is successfully finished.

The curriculum covers issues requested by members and kicked off with “Acute Respiratory Illness Pandemics: Prevention and Response” to address concerns related to COVID-19. That course was offered free to members and has been taken by hundreds of people since then, said Training Development Manager Karen Jones.

"We've been pleased by the interest in this new curriculum,” said Vice President of Member Services Donna Clark. “Our goal was to provide courses that were relevant and needed by our members. Awareness of the dynamics of sexual harassment is always important for every company.”

ATSSA recognizes that members in several states have pending deadlines to complete sexual harassment prevention training in the coming months and provided a breakdown of those requirements.

“We didn’t want anyone to miss these important deadlines,” said Director of Training Rameeza Shaikh.

Below is a list of state-specific requirements coming up within the next few months.


  • California – Effective Jan. 1, 2020, employers must provide sexual harassment prevention training to temporary or seasonal employees within 30 calendar days after the hire.
  • Connecticut - Employers with three or more employees must provide all existing employees with two hours of training by Oct. 1, 2020.
  • Delaware - Employers with 50 or more employees must provide employees with interactive training.  This was effective in January 2019, but the training for employees and supervisors must be repeated every two years, so re-training should be completed soon.
  • Illinois – Effective Jan. 1, 2020, employers with 15 or more employees must provide this training at least once a year.
  • Maine - Employers with 15 or more employees must have this training for all employees, including supervisors, within one year of their start date.
  • New York – Every employer was required to provide employees with sexual harassment prevention training by Oct. 9, 2019 and annually thereafter. 


685 Rate this article:

Please login or register to post comments.